Homeland Security

After serving as the Region 6 Homeland Security Program fiduciary for the past 10 years, WMSRDC will no longer serve in this capacity effective June 1, 2019. This decision was made official and announced to the Region 6 Planning Board and MSP-EMHSD in September 2018.

Since then, WMSRDC has been working with the Region 6 Planning Board to secure a new fiduciary to allow for a smooth and seamless transition. WMSRDC will continue to work with the Region 6 Planning Board to close the FY16 Homeland Security Grant on May 31st and transitition the remainder of the FY17 Homeland Security Grant activities to the new fiduciary starting June 1st. The FY18 Homeland Security Grant will open with the new Region 6 fiduciary as they take over in June.

Although it was not always easy, the Region was able to work together to build a program that has resulted in a highly prepared, trained, and equipped region. WMSRDC applauds the dedication and leadership of the county emergency managers as they continually strive to improve the capabilities of the region through this valuable program.

WMSRDC thanks the staff at MSP-EMHSD for the leadership and direction they have provided throughout the years. We at WMSRDC believe in this valuable program and the vital work being done by the Region 6 Planning Board for the communities we live in.

WMSRDC has been responsible for the management and administration of the Homeland security Grant Program (HSGP) for the Region counties of Clare, Ionia, Isabella, Kent, Lake, Mason, Mecosta, Montcalm, Muskegon, Newaygo, Oceana, Osceola, and Ottawa.

Click here for a link to the Region 6 Homeland Security Planning Board website maintained by WMSRDC.


Jerry Becker, Chairperson, EM Director, Clare County

Jack Stewart, Chairperson, EM Coordinator, Kent County and City of Grand Rapids

Scott Schroeder, Secretary, EM Coordinator, Mecosta County


Nick Bonstell, PEM, EM Director, Ottawa County

Don Divis, Lake County EM Director

Jim Duram, EM Coordinator, Oceana County

Dave Feldpausch, EMS Director, Montcalm County

Mike Gregg , Regional Coordinator, Region 6 Healthcare Coalition

Sergeant William Hoskins, EM Coordinator, County of Ionia

Margaret McAvoy, Administrator, Isabella County

Elizabeth Reimink, EM Coordinator, Mason County

Jennifer Sorek, Public Health Preparedness Coordinator, Ottawa County Dept. of Public Health (Key Contact), No Permanent Representative – (Rotating Representatives)

Troy Thomas, Director of Ionia Department of Public Safety, City of Ionia

Rich Warner, Emergency Manager, Muskegon County

Abby Watkins, PEM, ES Director, Newaygo County

Mark Watkins, PEM, EM Director, Osceola County