In 1973, WMSRDC organized the Muskegon Area Transportation Planning Program as the Metropolitan Transportation Planning Organization (MPO) Policy Committee. In 2003, when the U.S. Census Bureau expanded the Muskegon Urbanized Area to include northern Ottawa County, WMSRDC, working with the Michigan Department of Transportation, realigned the Metropolitan Area Boundary (MAB) of the MPO and organized the West Michigan Metropolitan Transportation Planning Program (WestPlan). WMSRDC has staffed the MPO since 1973.

In addition to the MPO program, there are three other distinct transportation planning programs/activities that WMSRDC is involved in: Rural Transportation Planning, Regional Transportation Planning, and the Asset Management Program.

MPO Transportation Policy Committee

  • Roger Bergman, Policy Committee Chairperson, Ottawa County Commissioner
  • Edd Whalen, Policy Committee Vice-Chairperson, Mayor, City of Whitehall
  • Kim Arter, Supervisor, Laketon Township
  • Kay Beecham, Councilperson, City of Norton Shores
  • Aaron Dawson, Planner, Federal Highway Administration
  • Elmer Hoyle, Trustee, Ravenna Township
  • Susie Hughes, Muskegon County Commissioner
  • Jack Kennedy, Muskegon County Road Commissioner
  • Melissa Klos, Councilperson, City of Roosevelt Park
  • John Lanum, Supervisor, Michigan Department of Transportation
  • Bonnie McGlothin, Councilperson, City of Muskegon Heights
  • Bill Mogren, Councilperson, City of North Muskegon
  • Robert Monetza, Harbor Transit Board Member
  • Betty Gajewski, Ottawa County Road Commission Member
  • Mark Powers, Councilperson, Village of Spring Lake
  • Dennis Scott, Councilperson, City of Grand Haven
  • Dan Ruiter, Mayor, City of Ferrysburg
  • Leon Stille, Supervisor, Crockery Township
  • Tim Todd, City of Montague
  • Byron Turnquist, Councilperson, City of Muskegon
  • Rillastine Wilkins, Muskegon County Commissioner – MATS
  • Roger Vanderstelt, Village of Fruitport