WEST MICHIGAN METROPOLITAN TRANSPORTATION PLANNING PROGRAM (WESTPLAN) POLICY COMMITTEE MEETING

MEETING MINUTES

March 31, 2021

I. CALL TO ORDER

WestPlan MPO staff consulted with MDOT and FHWA staff to address concerns with recent COVID-19 restrictions pertaining to public meetings and gatherings. Governor Whitmer released Executive Directive 2020-2 on March 13, 2020, which gave agencies alternative options to public meetings to allow important time sensitive issues to move forward. WestPlan provided materials to all members and opened opportunities for discussion and comment by phone or email. These same materials were available to the public as well. The meeting was held via Zoom. Access information was sent out to the transportation stakeholder list.

Chairperson Arter called the meeting to order at 2:42 p.m. A quorum was present.

ATTENDANCE (Roll call)

A. Members Present

Kim Arter, Laketon Township, Chairperson Scott Blease, Ferrysburg Ryan Kelly Ottawa County- Township Rep Dennis Scott, City of Grand Haven Robert Monetza, Harbor Transit Don Mayle, MDOT Roger Vanderstelt, Village of Fruitport Jack Kennedy, Muskegon County Road Commission Missi Klos, City of Roosevelt Park Susie Hughes, MATS Bonnie McGlothin, City of Muskegon Heights

Bill Mogren, City of North Muskegon Kay Beecham, City of Norton Shores Matt Fenske, Ottawa County Betty Gajewski, Ottawa County Road Commission Steven Salter, City of Whitehall Tom Lohman, City of Montague Ken Johnson, City of Muskegon

B. Members Not Present

Andy Pickard, FHWA (Non-Voting) Rillastine Wilkins, Muskegon County Commissioner Elmer Hoyle, Ravenna Township

C. Others Present

Wally Delamater, Village of Spring Lake

D. Staff Present

Erin Kuhn, WMSRDC Executive Director Brian Mulnix, WMSRDC Amy Haack, WMSRDC Joel Fitzpatrick, WMSRDC

II. CALL TO ORDER

Chairperson Kim Arter called the meeting to order at 1:42. Attendance was taken via roll call. A quorum was present.

III. PUBLIC COMMENT

The WestPlan Public Participation Plan procedure was followed to achieve public participation for this meeting. No member of the public spoke.

IV. BYLAW AMENDMENT

WMSRDC Executive Director Erin Kuhn presented the proposed bylaw amendment. Discussion ensued. Mr. Robert Monetza asked whether those members in areas under emergency declarations would be able to attend virtually. Mr. Don Mayle stated that they could.

A motion was made and seconded to approve the proposed bylaws. A roll call vote was conducted. Motion approved. m/s Hughes/Kennedy

Bill Mogren, City of North Muskegon Yes Kim Arter, Laketon Township, Chairperson Yes

Kay Beecham, City of Norton Shores Yes

Matt Fenske, Ottawa County Yes

Betty Gajewski, Ottawa County Road Commission Yes

Susie Hughes, MATS Yes

Jack Kennedy, Muskegon County Road Commission Yes

Missi Klos, City of Roosevelt Park Yes

Dennis Kent for Don Mayle, MDOT Yes

Bonnie McGlothin, City of Muskegon Heights Yes

Robert Monetza, Harbor Transit Yes

Wally Delamater, Village of Spring Lake Yes Scott Blease, Ferrysburg Yes Dennis Scott, City of Grand Haven Yes Ryan Kelly Ottawa County- Township Rep Yes Steven Salter, City of Whitehall Yes Tom Lohman, City of Montague Yes Roger Vanderstelt, Village of Fruitport Yes Ken Johnson, City of Muskegon Yes

V. PUBLIC PARTICIPATION

The WestPlan Public Participation Plan procedure was followed to achieve public participation for this meeting. No member of the public spoke.

VI. ADJOURN- Meeting adjourned at 2:56 p.m.