WEST MICHIGAN METROPOLITAN TRANSPORTATION PLANNING PROGRAM (WESTPLAN) POLICY COMMITTEE MEETING

MEETING MINUTES

May 19, 2021

I. CALL TO ORDER

WestPlan MPO staff consulted with MDOT and FHWA staff to address concerns with recent COVID-19 restrictions pertaining to public meetings and gatherings. Governor Whitmer released Executive Directive 2020-2 on March 13, 2020, which gave agencies alternative options to public meetings to allow important time sensitive issues to move forward. WestPlan provided materials to all members and opened opportunities for discussion and comment by phone or email. These same materials were available to the public as well. The meeting was held via Zoom. Access information was sent out to the transportation stakeholder list.

Chairperson Arter called the meeting to order at 1:31 p.m. A quorum was present.

ATTENDANCE (Roll call)

A. Members Present

Bill Mogren, City of North Muskegon Kim Arter, Laketon Township, Chairperson Matt Fenske, Ottawa County Betty Gajewski, Ottawa County Road Commission Susie Hughes, MATS Jack Kennedy, Muskegon County Road Commission Missi Klos, City of Roosevelt Park Don Mayle, MDOT Robert Monetza, Harbor Transit Scott Blease, Ferrysburg Dennis Scott, City of Grand Haven Ryan Kelly Ottawa County-Township Rep Steven Salter, City of Whitehall Tom Lohman, City of Montague Roger Vanderstelt, Village of Fruitport Ken Johnson, City of Muskegon

B. Members Not Present

Andy Pickard, FHWA (Non-Voting)
Rillastine Wilkins, Muskegon County Commissioner
Elmer Hoyle, Ravenna Township
Kay Beecham, City of Norton Shores
Bonnie McGlothin, City of Muskegon Heights
Wally Delamater, Village of Spring Lake

C. Others Present

Tyler Kent, MDOT Marc Fredrickson, MDOT Muskegon TSC Bob Lukens, Muskegon County Luke Walters, MDOT Katherine Parker, MDOT Brad Hastings, Disability Network

D. Staff Present

Erin Kuhn, WMSRDC Executive Director Brian Mulnix, WMSRDC Amy Haack, WMSRDC Joel Fitzpatrick, WMSRDC

II. APPROVAL OF PREVIOUS MINUTES

A motion was made to approve the minutes from the March 17, 2021, meeting as submitted. Motion approved. m/s Blease/Hughes

Bill Mogren, City of North Muskegon (Yes)

Kim Arter, Laketon Township, Chairperson (Yes)

Matt Fenske, Ottawa County (Yes)

Betty Gajewski, Ottawa County Road Commission (Yes)

Susie Hughes, MATS (Yes)

Jack Kennedy, Muskegon County Road Commission (Yes)

Missi Klos, City of Roosevelt Park (Yes)

Don Mayle, MDOT (Yes)

Robert Monetza, Harbor Transit (Yes)

Scott Blease, Ferrysburg (Yes)

Dennis Scott, City of Grand Haven (Yes)

Ryan Kelly Ottawa County- Township Rep (Yes)

Steven Salter, City of Whitehall (Yes)

Tom Lohman, City of Montague (Yes)

Roger Vanderstelt, Village of Fruitport (Yes)

Ken Johnson, City of Muskegon (Yes)

III. ELECTION OF VICE CHAIRPERSON-

Mrs. Arter opened the floor for nominations, Hughes nominated Mr. Blease, supported by Monetza. No other nominations, floor was closed. Vote carried unanimously to elect Scott Blease as Vice Chairperson. **M/S Hughes/Monetza**

Bill Mogren, City of North Muskegon (Yes)

Kim Arter, Laketon Township, Chairperson (Yes)

Matt Fenske, Ottawa County (Yes)

Betty Gajewski, Ottawa County Road Commission (Yes)

Susie Hughes, MATS (Yes)

Jack Kennedy, Muskegon County Road Commission (Yes)

Missi Klos, City of Roosevelt Park (Yes)

Don Mayle, MDOT (Yes)

Robert Monetza, Harbor Transit (Yes)

Scott Blease, Ferrysburg (Yes)

Dennis Scott, City of Grand Haven (Yes)

Ryan Kelly Ottawa County- Township Rep (Yes)

Steven Salter, City of Whitehall (Yes)

Tom Lohman, City of Montague (Yes) Roger Vanderstelt, Village of Fruitport (Yes) Ken Johnson, City of Muskegon (Yes)

IV. PUBLIC COMMENT

The WestPlan Public Participation Plan procedure was followed to achieve public participation for this meeting. No member of the public spoke.

V. FY2020-FY2023 TIP: Mr. Mulnix spoke on the 2020-2023 TIP as well as obligation authority.

FY2023-FY2026 TIP: Mr. Mulnix notified the committee that work would start on the 2023-2026 TIP would start in the fall.

VI. FY2022 UNIFIED WORK PROGRAM

Mr. Fitzpatrick presented the FY2022 Unified Work Program (UWP). A motion was made and seconded to approve the UWP. A roll call vote was conducted. Motion approved. m/s Hughes/Mogren

Bill Mogren, City of North Muskegon (Yes)

Kim Arter, Laketon Township, Chairperson (Yes)

Matt Fenske, Ottawa County (Yes)

Betty Gajewski, Ottawa County Road Commission (Yes)

Susie Hughes, MATS (Yes)

Jack Kennedy, Muskegon County Road Commission (Yes)

Missi Klos, City of Roosevelt Park (Yes)

Don Mayle, MDOT (Yes)

Robert Monetza, Harbor Transit (Yes)

Scott Blease, Ferrysburg (Yes)

Dennis Scott, City of Grand Haven (Yes)

Ryan Kelly Ottawa County-Township Rep (Yes)

Steven Salter, City of Whitehall (Yes)

Tom Lohman, City of Montague (Yes)

Roger Vanderstelt, Village of Fruitport (Yes)

Ken Johnson, City of Muskegon (Yes)

VII. FY2021 HIP & COVID FUNDING-

Mr. Mulnix updated the committee on the progress of programming the stimulus funding.

VIII. 2045 LONG RANGE TRANSPORTATION PLAN – Mr. Joel Fitzpatrick stated there was no update at this time.

IX. MPO ROUNDTABLE

A. PUBLIC TRANSPORTATION

Mr. Lukens updated the committee on recent MATS activities

B. MDOT UPDATES

- Mr. Kent and Mr. Walters updated the committee on the following list of topics:
- a. MDOT FIVE YEAR TRANSPORTATION PLAN
- b. FY2021 OBLIGATION AUTHORITY
- c. US-31 AND M-104 BRIDGEWORK UPDATES
- d. REBUILDING MICHIGAN BOND PROGRAM
- e. STATE LONG RANGE PLAN
- f. TAMC ANNUAL ROAD AND BRIDGE REPORT 2020
- g. M-104 SAFETY DISCUSSION

C. MUSKEGON COUNTY BICYCLING COALITION

Mr. Mulnix introduced the group to the committee and informed them that they would be participating in future meetings.

VI. OLD BUSINESS – There was no old business to discuss.

X. PUBLIC PARTICIPATION

The WestPlan Public Participation Plan procedure was followed to achieve public participation for this meeting. Mrs. Brad Hastings introduced himself.

- VII. NEW BUSINESS No new business was discussed.
- VIII. ADJOURN- Meeting adjourned at 2:26 p.m.