WEST MICHIGAN METROPOLITAN TRANSPORTATION PLANNING PROGRAM (WESTPLAN) POLICY COMMITTEE MEETING

MEETING MINUTES

June 16, 2021

I. CALL TO ORDER

WestPlan MPO staff consulted with MDOT and FHWA staff to address concerns with recent COVID-19 restrictions pertaining to public meetings and gatherings. Governor Whitmer released Executive Directive 2020-2 on March 13, 2020, which gave agencies alternative options to public meetings to allow important time sensitive issues to move forward. WestPlan provided materials to all members and opened opportunities for discussion and comment by phone or email. These same materials were available to the public as well. The meeting was held via Zoom. Access information was sent out to the transportation stakeholder list.

Chairperson Arter called the meeting to order at 1:31 p.m. A quorum was present.

ATTENDANCE (Roll call)

A. Members Present

Kim Arter, Laketon Township, Chairperson
Matt Fenske, Ottawa County
Susie Hughes, MATS
Jack Kennedy, Muskegon County Road Commission
Don Mayle, MDOT
Robert Monetza, Harbor Transit
Scott Blease, Ferrysburg
Dennis Scott, City of Grand Haven
Steven Salter, City of Whitehall
Tom Lohman, City of Montague
Roger Vanderstelt, Village of Fruitport
Ken Johnson, City of Muskegon
Bonnie McGlothin, City of Muskegon Heights

B. Members Not Present

Andy Pickard, FHWA (Non-Voting)
Rillastine Wilkins, Muskegon County Commissioner
Elmer Hoyle, Ravenna Township
Kay Beecham, City of Norton Shores
Wally Delamater, Village of Spring Lake
Betty Gajewski, Ottawa County Road Commission (excused)
Missi Klos, City of Roosevelt Park
Ryan Kelly Ottawa County- Township Rep
Bill Mogren, City of North Muskegon

C. Others Present

Tyler Kent, MDOT Marc Fredrickson, MDOT Muskegon TSC Bob Lukens, Muskegon County Luke Walters, MDOT Jeff Franklin, MDOT Brad Hastings, Disability Network Frank Hollister Tom Lindrup Paul Sachs, Ottawa County

D. Staff Present

Erin Kuhn, WMSRDC Executive Director Brian Mulnix, WMSRDC Amy Haack, WMSRDC Joel Fitzpatrick, WMSRDC

II. APPROVAL OF PREVIOUS MINUTES

A motion was made to approve the minutes from the May 19, 2021, meeting as submitted. Motion approved. m/s Salter/Hughes

Kim Arter, Laketon Township, Chairperson (Yes)
Matt Fenske, Ottawa County (Yes)
Susie Hughes, MATS(Yes)
Jack Kennedy, Muskegon County Road Commission (Yes)
Don Mayle, MDOT (Yes)
Robert Monetza, Harbor Transit (Yes)
Scott Blease, Ferrysburg (Yes)
Dennis Scott, City of Grand Haven (Yes)
Steven Salter, City of Whitehall (Yes)
Tom Lohman, City of Montague (Yes)
Roger Vanderstelt, Village of Fruitport (Yes)
Ken Johnson, City of Muskegon (Yes)
Bonnie McGlothin, City of Muskegon Heights (Yes)

III. PUBLIC COMMENT

The WestPlan Public Participation Plan procedure was followed to achieve public participation for this meeting. No member of the public spoke.

IV. FY2020-FY2023 TIP: Mr. Mulnix spoke on the proposed Amendment 16 of the 2020-2023 TIP.

- Job # 212719, MDOT, Traffic Safety, Pavement marking, PE phase, Fed \$378, State \$42, Total \$420.
- Job # 212719, MDOT, Traffic Safety, Pavement marking, CON phase, Fed \$33,831, State \$3759, Total \$37,590.
- Job # 207793, MDOT, Ottawa County, US-31 at Jackson Street, construct right turn (Minor widening), Pavement marking, PE phase, Fed \$379,784, State \$84,216, Total \$464,000.

A motion was made to approve the proposed amendment.

Kim Arter, Laketon Township, Chairperson (Yes) Matt Fenske, Ottawa County (Yes) Susie Hughes, MATS(Yes)

Jack Kennedy, Muskegon County Road Commission (Yes)

Don Mayle, MDOT (Yes)

Robert Monetza, Harbor Transit (Yes)

Scott Blease, Ferrysburg (Yes)

Dennis Scott, City of Grand Haven (Yes)

Steven Salter, City of Whitehall (Yes)

Tom Lohman, City of Montague (Yes)

Roger Vanderstelt, Village of Fruitport (Yes)

Ken Johnson, City of Muskegon (Yes)

Bonnie McGlothin, City of Muskegon Heights (Yes)

Motion approved. m/s Hughes/Monetza

- V. FY2023-FY2026 TIP: Mr. Brian Mulnix notified the committee that work would start on the 2023-2026 TIP would start in the fall.
- VI. 2045 LONG RANGE TRANSPORTATION PLAN Mr. Joel Fitzpatrick stated there was no update at this time.

VII. MPO ROUNDTABLE

- Ms. Susie Hughes gave an update on Go Bus issues.
- Mr. Bob Lukens informed the committee on the MATS micro transit program.
- WMSRDC Executive Director Kuhn spoke about progress on the SDNT transit study.
- Mr. Don Mayle of MDOT introduced Jeff Franklin as the new West Unit Supervisor.
- Ms. Amy Haack apprised the committee on the status of the Air Quality program.
- Mr. Joel Fitzpatrick spoke about the US-31 Grand Haven study.
- Mr. Steven Salter asked about the sandbags between Whitehall and Montague. Mr. Marc Fredrickson of the Muskegon MDOT TSC responded.
- VI. OLD BUSINESS There was no old business to discuss.

VIII. PUBLIC PARTICIPATION

The WestPlan Public Participation Plan procedure was followed to achieve public participation for this meeting. There were no public comments.

- VII. NEW BUSINESS No new business was discussed.
- VIII. ADJOURN- Meeting adjourned at 2:24 p.m.