

# West Michigan Shoreline Materials Management Planning Committee

Monday, April 7, 2025 10:00 AM Lake County Courthouse – Board of Commissioners Room 800 10<sup>th</sup> Street, Baldwin, MI 49304

## Agenda

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. Roll Call
- 3. Approval of Agenda (ACTION ITEM)
- 4. Approval of Minutes from February 3, 2025 (ACTION ITEM)
- 5. Public Comment on Agenda Items
- 6. EGLE Presentation Jeff Krcmarik, Recycling Specialist
- 7. MMP Fact Sheet
- 8. County Profile Discussion
- 9. New Business
- 10. Public Comment
- 11. Adjournment (ACTION ITEM)

Next Meeting: Monday, May 5, 2025 (Newaygo County)



#### February 3, 2025 - 10:00 AM Oceana County Community Services Building 844 South Griswald Street, Hart, Michigan

I. CALL TO ORDER – 10:01 AM by Erin Kuhn, WMSRDC Executive Director

### II. ROLL CALL QUORUM: Yes

Present	Absent	Name	Representing
Х		Howard Lodholtz	Lake County, Elected County Official
Х		Phillip Lodholtz	Lake County, Elected Township Official
Х		Debbie Russell	Lake County, Business
	Х	Michael Seroczynski	Lake County, Elected County Official
		, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,	
Х		Sharon Edgar	Mason County, Environmental Interest Group
	Х	Jody Hartley	Mason County, Elected County Official
	Х	Jamie Healy	Mason Co., Waste Diversion, Reuse/Reduction Facility
Х		Michael Smith	Mason County, Business
Х		William Crabtree	Muskegon County, Business
Х		Joe Kuerth	Muskegon County, Waste Hauling
Х		Greg Leverence	Muskegon County, Solid Waste Disposal Facility
	Х	Darrell Page	Muskegon County, Elected County Official
Х		Leon Scott	Newaygo Co., Composting Facility/Anaerobic Digester
	Х	Jake Thompson	Newaygo County, Materials Recovery Facility
Х		Chuck Trapp	Newaygo County, Elected County Official
		Vacant	Newaygo County, Business
Х		Connie Cargill	Oceana County, Elected County Official
X X		Lynn Cavazos	Oceana County, Elected City/Village Official
Х		Jim Kleiner	Oceana County, Business
	Х	Don Squire	Oceana County, Business (generates managed material)
Х		Mark Kinney	WMSRDC Regional Planning Agency
Х		Stephen Carlson	WMSRDC Staff
Х		Erin Kuhn	WMSRDC Staff
GUESTS:		Jeff Marcinkowski	Fruitland Township
		Sidney Shaw	Fruitland Township
		Kathy Morrison	Newaygo County
		Valerie Deur	Big Prairie Township
		Susie Hall	Newaygo County Environmental Coalition
		Lee Hyslop	Crystal Township
		Amanda Kinney	Mason County
		Wade VandenBosch	Muskegon County
		Sara Cooper	Muskegon County
		Tobi Lake	Lake County

#### III. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

A motion was made by Chuck Trapp and supported by Howard Lodholtz to approve the agenda for February 3, 2025. Motion carried.

#### IV. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

A motion was made by Lynn Cavazos and supported by Debbie Russell to approve the December 2, 2024, Materials Management Planning Committee meeting minutes. Motion carried.

V. **PUBLIC COMMENT ON AGENDA ITEMS** – No public comment was made.

#### VI. MATERIALS MANAGEMENT PLAN WORK PLAN

Erin stated that all were sent a draft copy of the Work Plan. Copies were also available up front. Much has happened between the December 2024 meeting and today's meeting. On January 2, 2025, EGLE came out with official guidance and requirements on the Work Plan. Following a meeting with EGLE to get clarification, specifically around the budget, WMSRDC has been working with the county administrators to draft the Work Plan to make it consistent with what the State is requiring. Erin walked the committee through the Work Plan highlighting the budget. She stated that of the \$70,000 yearly allocation, counties may rollover unused dollars for implementation, once the plan is completed and approved by EGLE. After year five, as long as the dollars are appropriated at the state level, the \$70,000 will be available year after year to the counties for implementation. A new Annual Work Plan and budget will need to be sent to EGLE each year.

The project timeline and schedule included the initiation of the Work Plan. Project administration will be ongoing throughout the process. WMSRDC is required to be the point person as the Designated Planning Agency. The MMP Committee is formed to develop and oversee the plan upon approval. Public participation and stakeholder engagement are very important to EGLE. WMSRDC is well versed in reaching out to the public via the website, a public participation database list for emails, and a social media page. WMSRDC is also required to include any waste management business in the public participation list. Plan development will begin once we have an EGLE approved Work Plan.

After Erin answered several questions regarding the draft Work Plan, a motion was made by Jamie Healy and supported by Chuck Trapp to approve the MMP Work Plan. Motion carried.

#### VII. NEW BUSINESS

VIII. PUBLIC COMMENT – Kathy Morrison asked about the possibility of offering virtual meeting options. Erin stated that if the meeting location has the technology for a virtual meeting, then the link will be provided on the agenda, in the email, and on the WMSRDC website. However, the MMPC members must be present in-person to count for quorum and vote. Ms. Morrison also asked who to contact about filling the vacant position for Newaygo County. Erin stated it would be the County Administrator. Ms. Morrison had compiled information regarding PFAS in Newaygo County, which was shared with the committee. She wondered if consideration of facilities' locations would be considered. Erin responded that siting criteria will be a part of the plan.

Sydney Shaw, representative from Muskegon County, introduced the Fruitland Township Supervisor, Jeff Marcinkowski. Jeff stated that Fruitland Township has been very involved in waste management, and he shared the draft plan his community developed.

Susie Hall, Newaygo County Environmental Coalition, stated that there are other groups that would love to be involved and also be included on the distribution list.

Erin stated that she will submit the Work Plan to EGLE. She does not know when that will be approved. If there is not an approved plan, the March 3, 2025, meeting will be cancelled.

#### IX. ADJOURNMENT

A motion was made by William Crabtree and supported by Sharon Edgar to adjourn at 10:38 AM. Motion carried.

NEXT MEETING: March 3, 2025 – Mason County

Connie Cargill, Chairperson

Erin Kuhn, WMSRDC Executive Director

Date

Date